Our Story

I want to be a mother. In fact I have wanted to be a mother ever since I can remember. When you are a young child and people ask you what you want to be when you grow up you usually answer with your biggest dream. You know the one that is not very likely but that in your youth seems totally plausible. My first answer was an interior designer. Too bad I have no decorating skills to speak of. Then next answer was a mommy.

I grew up the oldest of four children and the only girl. I was also the second oldest grandchild on both sides of my family. Between the two I have 23 cousins, only two of the older. I have been surrounded by children my whole life. Even now, my job is working with children. And I love it.

J and I met in December of 2006. My friend from work (and eventual roommate) had convinced me to hang out. Something that was quite unusual as I really tend to shy away from outing like that where I don’t know a lot of people. J was brought along to the same outing by a friend that he never hangs out with. Really. I don’t think he has even talked on the phone with that guy since that night. Fate? Maybe. Cheesy? You bet.

Although we met in early December we did not have our first date till mid January.  By April I knew he was going to be my husband, although it took him a bit longer. But not by much, we got engaged the first week of August and were married on October 22, 2007.

It goes without saying that I would have started trying for a baby as soon as we got married. But J is the much more responsible and rational one and he brought me back down to earth. It was a good thing. For the next few years we struggled through finances while J battled through a job that he really did not care for. We were no where near ready to have a child. Then in March of 2010 we got our break. J was offered an incredible job, a dream job actually, in another state. While moving away from my family and friends in a state that I had lived my entire life was difficult, it was what we needed. In April of 2010 we officially moved to Southern California where we still reside.

With the job change a whole new world of opportunity opened up. We were finally in a good financial situation, where Jordan was growing and loving his job, and we had grown as a couple to the point that we felt comfortable with starting to try for a baby. In December 2010 I officially went off birth control.

Leave a comment

Filed under BABIES!

Leave a Reply

