What would you do?

Pretty sure that I ovulated yesterday. I have not been temping all month because we thought we’d be doing a trigger, so I started again on Friday. I’ve charted in the past so I know where my “normal” temperatures usually are and where my “ovulation” temperatures start. The past few days have been normal but today was an O temp. Tomorrow I’ll know for sure if it stays high.

My question is whether to take progesterone or not? I have a prescription filled that we were planning on starting after the IUI. When I called and asked my doctor if I should still take them the nurse said that I could if I wanted to, but that if I did get pregnant this cycle than the progesterone should kick in on its own.

But I have a sneaking suspicion that I have very low progesterone. When I was on clomid previously my levels came back surprisingly low even though I had a thermal shift.

So what do you think? Should I just take them (keeping in mind that I have little hope this cycle and my doctor said it wasn’t necessary) or should I save them for next cycle?

6 Comments

Filed under Clomid, Infertility, PCOS, questions

6 responses to “What would you do?

  1. Go for it. It can’t hurt. But….I wouldn’t start it until 3 days after O as it can really delay and mess with ovulation if you start too early (that’s what my dr says). You know you had good follies, so its not wasted. I always did progesterone (and I have no documented progesterone issues) with timed intercourse.

  2. If it isn’t super expensive I say can’t hurt

  3. I had an ongoing heated debate with my RE about this issue. She swears that with IUIs (NOT IVF), progesterone is useless. She says there are no studies that show that it does anything, and that they only give it to patients to make them feel as though they are doing something. I asked her lots of questions about this and discussed lots of women I know who swear by it. In the end, she left it up to me. I decided to go with my acu’s suggestion of Chinese herbs instead. But, I didn’t get pregnant. Sooo, it can’t hurt. But, prog suppositories can cause a lot of irritation, are generally gross, and would be continued through week 10 if you did get pg.

  4. I used progesterone with my FET but my high risk OB swears it is a useless practice designed to artificially inflate levels. But it made me feel better to take it. I say take it. You are less likely to regret taking it than not taking it. Praying for a miracle!

  5. Thanks for the comments guys. I am still on the fence. Will taking progesterone stop my period from arriving on time even if I am not pregnant? I am worried that the progesterone will fool me into thinking I am pregnant when I am not and then I’ll just be disappointed.

  6. It will delay your period and keep your temps high. Don’t let it mess with your mind!

Leave a Reply

