Don’t think bad thoughts, they might come true.

Do you guys remember what I said about having crazy thoughts in this post?

“Immediately crazy things jumped into my mind. “Oh no, the follicles didn’t release and now they are huge! They are going to rupture or become some heavy that it twists my ovary and I am going to have to have surgery! Why me?!?!”.”

Ding ding ding! We have a winner!

Yesterday morning I woke up to some stomach pain, I thought I just had to go to the bathroom since I have been somewhat constipated all week. I went, but the pain did not go away. In fact it got much much worse. After some conviecing my husband finally got me to admit I needed to see a doctor. On the way things got much worse, I started feeling faint and like I would throw up in addition to the horrible stomach pain. We decided to forgo the doctor and headed to the ER.

By the time we got there I was in so much pain that I could barely walk. I have never hurt so much in my life. They got me checked in and started an IV with those wonderful narcotics that eased my pain. They thought I possibly had a kidney stone so they sent me to get a CAT scan. After that was done the images came back showing that there were no stones, but there was a large abnormal mass near my kidney and ovaries. Then they scared the daylights out of me.

They sent in a surgeon and there was talk of the mass being cancer related.

As it turns out the surgeon took one look at the slides and said this was not cancer or even something that needed to be operated on. So we waited some more while they sent for an OB/GYN. He came in and confirmed my suspitions. I had a large cyst on my right ovary that had ruptured. It was 12 cm or roughly the size of a newborn’s head. The good news is that since it had already ruptured, it would most likely go away on its own. Just very painfully.

So now I sit in bed, with the narcotics they prescribed me that make me so sick. In the past 12 hours I have thrown up around 10 times and gotten maybe 5 hours of sleep. I am still in a lot of pain, but I think we are going to try over the counter drugs instead of the prescribed medication because I am becoming dehydrated from vomiting so much with nothing in my system.

I have never felt so sick in my life.

It also makes me really scared for the future. If I over stimulated and had a rupture on Clomid how could I possibly not be scared of injectables? Maybe this is a sign that we need to head another way in our search for a family. I don’t know. I’m really too doped up to say for sure how I’ll feel when this is all over.

The most ironic thing of it all, yesterday was our 1 year mark of trying to conceive. Happy anniversary to me.

11 Comments

Filed under Clomid, Crazy? I'm not crazy!, Infertility, Just my luck, PCOS

11 responses to “Don’t think bad thoughts, they might come true.

  1. Yikes…that’s scary. Glad you hav some good pain meds….although they may be making you vomit too! Ugh. Anyway, I don’t think you overstimulated…clomid is known to cause cysts….another reason I hate the drug. Try femara or the injectibles in tiny doses…..this can still be your route. Get well soon lady!! Xoxox

  2. Holy cow! I’m glad you got to the hospital in time. Maybe ask your RE about risk of another cyst rupturing with injectibles? Hopefully its a one time issue…..
    Feel better!!!

  3. Rachel @ Eggs In A Row

    Oh honey. That is so stressful! I’m so sorry. You are in my prayers!

  4. nobabiesyet

    How awful and scary and just a terrible thing to go through, I’m so sorry. I hope that you start feeling better soon and that there will be answers for you. Dang what a crappy day for you!!!

  5. How scary! I am so sorry you had to go through all of that! Clomid can be especially bad for causing cysts. 😦 Let us know what your doctor says!

  6. Oh no!!! That is really scary! I’m glad you went to the ER in the end. I hope you relax and heal as quickly as possible 🙂

  7. Wow. That’s so awful. As if you weren’t dealing with enough already. Hope you heal quickly. Sending prayers your way.

  8. M

    How scary. I’m so sorry, I hope you recover quickly.

  9. I’m hoping this will make you smile: just gave you an award. 🙂

  10. Pingback: Who doesn’t like being diseased? |

Leave a Reply

