Some fresh perspective

I know I haven’t been a good blogger this week (or a reader for that matter). Being home for the holidays has been taking up my time and I am trying to soak up as much of it as I can. I’ve had a few downs this week, mostly due to the fact that I thought I’d have a baby by this time this year and also because I found out that one of my close cousins is 8 weeks pregnant, tried for only a few months, and she was afraid to tell me. Too bad her HUGE boobs gave her away. Also I saw another cousin who brought her 7 week old baby and I couldn’t even talk to her. (Not that we were close anyways, we haven’t spoken in years) The situation is just so frustrating because she is such a mess yet she has a baby and I don’t.

But this morning I got a fresh perspective that really puts my woes in place.

On Christmas Eve a friend and her young family were driving home from a relatives place. It was her, her husband and their two sons who are 3 and 1 year. On their way home a SUV jumped over the median and slammed into them head on. The car burst into flames. Her, her husband, and youngest son were all air lifted to the hospital in serious condition. Her 3-year-old was also admitted but in stable condition. Yesterday evening on Christmas Day her baby boy died from his injuries. She and her husband are both still in serious condition and have been in and out of surgery since. Today is also her birthday.

This news came at such a shock to me and I burst into tears as soon as I read her sweet little guy was gone. Her Christmas season will NEVER be the same. It will always be the day her son died. Between her and her husband they probably have 6 months to a year of rehabilitation.

And guys, she is one of us.

She tried for years and years to conceive and even suffered miscarriages due to PCOS. She did IVF twice to get her oldest. Her little one was conceived naturally after trying a bunch of different supplements. He was truly a miracle.

I just can’t even fathom what she is going through right now. My heart is breaking for her. So next time I think I have it rough I am going to remember this family and the nightmare that they are going through right now. Please, keep them in your thoughts and prayers. I know there is not much right now I could do or say to help them, but I can ask for prayers. She is a good person and a wonderful mother. She loves those little boys more than anything.

If anyone is interested there is a website set up to help out her little family. No pressure, I know it’s different when you do not know the people. But if anyone is interested please check out this website:

http://www.kellypack.com

13 Comments

Filed under It's not always about me, Living Life

13 responses to “Some fresh perspective

  1. So sorry to hear that. I hate when life happens like this to give you a cold dose of reality, and I will certainly say a prayer for this family. But I’ll also be praying that you can stay strong through all this!

  2. Tracy

    Oh my gosh that is horrific! I’m so sorry to hear this about your friend. Life is precious – never take it for granted.

  3. This is so terrible, I’m so sorry. I can’t believe how cruel life can be sometimes, it doesn’t make much sense. Its a sure dose of reality, one I need to soak up as well… life is so precious and sometimes I’m too caught up I’m too caught up in my own crap to see that. Thanks for sharing and ill keep your friend and her family in my thoughts.

  4. nothingifnotoptimistic

    That is so awful! To have a child taken away, it’s a horribly cruel thing that I wish no parent would have to endure. I will pray for your friend’s family and hope that they will be able to find comfort in each other.

  5. This is such a tragic, terrible story. How do you know them? It sounds like the other driver might have been drunk?

    I can’t imagine losing a child that way. There was a story on Oprah a while back that was similar: http://www.oprah.com/oprahshow/Coble-Family-Miracle
    I am so, so sorry for your friends.

  6. ICLW 89. So, so sorry to hear about your friend. It makes me want to cry, not even knowing her.

  7. So sorry to hear about your friend…how awful! Keeping them in my prayers…

  8. Stopping over for ICLW. What a horrible, horrible tragedy. I can’t even imagine. Life is just so unfair is so many ways. I will keep them in my prayers.

  9. This is awful. I’ll be praying for them.

  10. nobabiesyet

    My heart goes out to them. I cannot imagine the pain they are all going through.

  11. M

    How awful. I’m so sorry for them.

  12. Oh my word, that is so absolutely horrible. I am so very sorry for their loss and pain….there are no words. It certainly puts everything into perspective. Life is so unfair.

Leave a Reply

