Back in the Hospital

It all started Friday morning. I had some period-like cramps in the morning while getting ready for work. I thought it was odd since I was only on CD14 but I shrugged it off and took a midol. While getting ready I got really dizzy and almost passed out, so I called into work. I stayed home and was feeling pretty good until about 3:00pm when the cramps came back really intense. So intense that they went down into my thigh muscle and I could barely walk. I took some Pamprin and tried to wait it out but I was in so much pain that I called J to come pick me up and take me to the doctor.

He came and got me and we headed to the ER. By the time we went there the Medicine had kicked in and my pain was almost gone, so I decided to forego the ER and just go to the Urgent Care. We went and explained my history so they sent me to get an ultrasound. The ultrasound didn’t show us much, just that right ovary was inflamed and the cysts were between 2 and 4 cm each. I went home reassured.

I was wrong and so were they.

On Saturday morning the pain started again but far more intense. Worse even then when I had the ruptured cyst. We rushed to the ER and after a very scary ultrasound the doctor came into see me. My ovary was so inflamed that is was 13 cm plus the 3 small cysts. Ovaries are usually 4 cm. She told me that I was facing a surgery, we just had to figure out what kind. She sent for a consult from an oncologist to see if it was Ovarian cancer. I have never been so scared in my life.

Turns out they cleared me for cancer, so my doctor decided that we needed to go in and do a laparoscopic proceedure and drain the cysts to see if we could get the ovary to shrink down. I have never had a surgery in my life, and I was terrified. They were talking to me about all the risks of the anesthesia, scaring, and possible complications. I had to sign all these waivers. My husband stayed with me as long as possible and by 10:30pm I was knocked out and headed to the OR.

When they got inside the found my right ovary had suffered from Torsion, basically it had been so heavy that it twisted around, not once but five times. It was black from the lack of blood supply. It was also dead. They tried to twist it back to see if they could get any blood to it. Before going under I asked the surgeon to do everything possible to save the ovary. It was not possible. They removed my whole right ovary and tube.

I am sitting in my hospital bed right now still recovering. I have pain at the incision sights and there is also a lot of gas in my abdomen left over from the surgery. I feel a little numb about the whole thing. Apparently last night after I woke up J informed me of the loss of my ovary and I cried for 45 min. I have no recollection of this.

The OB/GYN that operated on my said she believes that I still have a good chance of getting pregnant after I recover. Apparently the left ovary will take over for the right and ovulate every month instead of every other month (If I can get regulated that is). That is good news, but I can’t help but feel a little empty. Like a main part of me has been snatched away. I thought we had seen the worse when the cyst ruptured, but apparently I was very, very wrong.

30 Comments

Filed under Just my luck, PCOS, Sickness

30 responses to “Back in the Hospital

  1. Holy cow!!! I am so sorry that you lost an ovary. I don’t honestly even know what to say. I wish there were something I could do to help. Will you be in the hospital long? Please keep us updated. HUGS.

  2. Oh. My God. I am so glad you are okay, even if they had to remove the ovary. That is so scary. Thank God you caught it in time. Do you have any idea how it happened? Five times!!! That sounds incredibly impossible. Wow. Seriously, thank goodness you are okay. But I can’t imagine what it feels like to wake up to that news. I wish you a smooth and quick recovery.

  3. Pingback: Send good healing vibes | I'm polycystic inside

  4. Wow. I didn’t think it could get worse from the whole cyst ordeal. I’m so sorry you have had such an awful time. I can’t even imagine. Praying you heal quickly.

  5. Omg…you have been thru so much!!!! Thinking of you tons and wishing you a quick recovery!!! So so so sorry….what an emotional few months for you! Xoxo

  6. I am so sorry! You are in our thoughts and prayers.

  7. Holy jeebus Trisha! I am so sorry about your ovary and tube. How awful. Your doc is right – you only need one ovary. I wish you a speedy recovery hun. How long will you be in the hospital?

    • They wanted to release me the day after surgery (i.e. 12 hours later since I had my surgery in the late evening) but I insisted on staying an extra day to make sure that my pain was under control. I got home this afternoon.

  8. I’m so sorry to hear this! I hope you have a very speedy recovery!

  9. B

    I’m so sorry for the loss of your ovary. I hope that you are able to heal quickly and that your left ovary picks up the slack ASAP. ❤

  10. veetamia

    Hope you recover soon [emotionally and physically]. Keep strong!! You’re in my thoughts!

  11. Mo

    I’m so sorry! I can imagine how traumatic this is for you. When I lost my tube this summer it was quite a blow – but the doc is right, your body will compensate for this.
    The worst part of a lap is the gas pain. You’ll probably get the worst of it about 2-3 days post-op, but then you’ll start feeling better. In the meantime, lots of hot tea, and please take good care of yourself!

  12. shoe it must have been so hectic. I am so sorry that you had to go through all this also so sorry for the loss. I will keep you my prayers and thoughts and really hope you recover soon.

    ((hugs))

  13. That totally sucks. I hope you’re feeling better soon!

  14. nothingifnotoptimistic

    Oh hun, I am so sorry. I wish there was something that could be said or done to make you feel better, whatever it is I hope someone close to you can do that for you. Take care of yourself and I’ll be praying for you!

  15. So sorry to hear about the ovary. Wishing you a quick recovery and hoping your left ovary kicks it into high gear and takes over for it’s lost partner.

  16. All I have to say is: FUCK YOU George!

    Thinking of you and quietly hoping for a fast and painless recovery.

  17. P.S. That is, if the cysts name is George.

  18. Thank you everyone for the responses and kind words! I’m home now, just have to take it easy and try to recover. I’m still a little numb about the whole thing. Hopefully that will go away as well and I’ll be able to deal with this emotionally too.

  19. I’m so very sorry. I can imagine how it would feel to wake up without a part of you. I wish there was something they could do!
    Thinking of you and hoping you heal quickly and that the lefty will be a rockstar.

  20. My head is reeling with how quickly that all happened to you! I’m glad the doctors were able to move fast and took good care of you, but I’m so very sorry your ovary couldn’t be saved. I will pray for your good health and that the remaining ovary behaves itself.

  21. KT

    I’m sorry that you can’t seem to catch a break. Having just had surgery myself, recovery (including the gas left in your body) is painful so take it easy.

  22. I’m so sorry! I can’t believe how fast it all was. Sending all of the encouragement I can muster to lefty as you begin to move forward!

  23. Oh Trisha, I am so so sorry. That must have been so scary. I’m glad you’re in recovery…hang in there.

  24. Nobabiesyet

    I’ve been thinking of you the past couple of days. I hope so much that you are feeling better and I am so sorry that you are going through this. I really hope that the tide shifts and things turn around for you guys. No more hospital visits. Feel better!

  25. Pingback: BOOM. |

Leave a Reply

