Wishing and hoping…and passing it on

When I created my list of 101 things to do in 1001 days I had a special idea in mind for #78. Buy a good luck charm necklace. But it was an idea that I felt would help me help someone else in the infertility community. I wanted to get a special necklace. A necklace that I could wear through my infertility journey, a reminder to not give up hope and to help me wish for the best even when I feel like all is lost. I want to wear this necklace all throughout a pregnancy until I brought home my baby. And then I wanted to pass it on.

Today my necklace arrived in the mail. When trying to decide what I wanted my reminder, my charm, to be I tried to give it a lot of thought. I wanted it to be special. When I first saw my necklace I wasn’t sure if it was “the one”. So I did a little research on it.

“Wishing upon a wishbone is an ancient custom. The wishbone custom involves two people who would break the wishbone and the one with a bigger piece would make the lucky wish. The wishbone is actually the forked bone from the fowl’s breast or better known as the “furcula”. In many cultures, fowl is regarded as a special creature which could bring luck and good fortune. The wishbone shape itself is good luck symbol of life and fertility.”


Found here.

That struck me. Of course I’ve always known of a wishbone. As a child my brothers and I would argue on who would get to pull it. Who ever got the bigger piece would have their wish come true. That is what I need right now. A wish. But not only a wish…I need a little good luck, hope for a brighter future, and a reminder of what can be.

So here is how it is going to go. I am going to wear this necklace. I am going to wear it through all the blood work, the cycles, the fertility drugs and throughout a pregnancy. And one day when I finally do bring home a baby then I am going to take off the necklace and I am going to send it to someone in the IF community who is still struggling, someone who needs some good luck and hope. Maybe one day they will be able to pass it along as well. I hope so. I don’t know how I will choose someone when that day comes, I’m just counting on my gut and hopefully I will just know who it needs to go through. Hopefully it will grant many wishes in the years to come.

And if anyone is interested Cristy is putting together a fertility sock exchange that I am going to be participating in. Go comment on her post if you would like to join in too!

9 Comments

Filed under 101 Things, If you're happy and you know it..., Infertility, It's not always about me, pictures

9 responses to “Wishing and hoping…and passing it on

  1. Love this. I’m going to do the sock exchange too- sounds fun!

  2. That’s a really cool idea. I thought about a tattoo. Your idea is much less permanent. 🙂

  3. The part I love most about this is the fact plan on passing this on to someone in the future. Beautiful on so many levels.

    And I’m so happy you’re joining in the sock exchange (thanks for the shout out!)! Should be fun.

  4. I love this idea, especially the passing on your good luck charm. It’s just beautiful and simple. It is inspiring.

  5. EmHart

    This is a really beautiful idea and the necklace is so lovely. I love sliver jewelry. I fancy doing the sock challenge too. I think I will pop over and sign up for it. I hope the time you can pass that lovely necklace on is very very soon.

  6. I love the necklace and the idea.

  7. That is a beautiful idea! I joined the sock exchange too. I have always wanted to do that.

  8. Tami

    This is an absolutely beautiful sentiment, hun. With time, this necklace will become a symbol of power and strength and success for all those that wear it. We all need that during this journey.

  9. I love that necklace! I want one!!! I might do this…

Leave a Reply

