Welcome to Written Wednesday

For awhile I’ve been wanting to set aside a day of the week to dedicate a post to something non-fertility related. So much of my life is already dominated by my drive to have a baby and I know it is good for me to let something else take a priority every once in a while.

I am a reader. A big reader in fact. I’m the co-worker that purposefully goes on break at a different time than anyone else so that I can read rather than talk. Almost every night before bed I take a nice hot bath and read. I love books. I love how stories can transport you to a different world, make feel emotions that you would otherwise not be feeling, and generally captivate you.

When I was younger I read only one type of book, cheesy romance novels (tame ones of course because I was a good little sheltered girl). It is so funny how things change over time because now I can’t stand those types of books. It is very very rare that I will pick up a romance book. Now I am more into serious books. I like nitty-gritty, dramatic, and sometimes disturbing books. Yup I’m weird like that.

I got my love for reading from my mom but unlike me she likes the happy romance stuff. She says she reads to escape all the crap that exists in the real world. She likes to pretend there is the perfect guy who says all the right things and looks like Zac Efron (okay yes he is real and YUMMY but I’m sure he is far from perfect). I on the other hand hate that stuff because I know that is not how the world is. I know there is no Prince Charming and happily ever after. I think there are people who come into our lives that make us better and who we love more than anything, but they are not perfect, nor is life. Maybe I am too jaded but I’d rather read something real.

I am also a re-reader. A lot of people ask me how I can stand to read books more than once and for me it is quite simple. If a story is well done, I mean really well done, it does not matter if you’ve read it before. It still has the ability to pull you into the world and transport you to another time. There have been many books that I have picked up for a 2nd or 3rd time and have not been able to put down. To me that is a true testament of a good book.

I can not guarantee that I will do a written Wednesday post every week, but I will try. I will talk about books I have read, books I am reading, books I loved, books I hated and everywhere in between. If you ever have any recommendations please send them my way, I am always looking for something new to read.

Until next week, read up!

8 Comments

Filed under Living Life, Written Wednesday

8 responses to “Welcome to Written Wednesday

  1. amy

    Great idea! I love reading although the time I commit to it tends to vary by day and season. There are a handful of books I reread every 3 to 5 years. It’s always interesting to see what new insights I have about them now. Looking forward to hearing what you like to read!

  2. I’m looking forward to hearing about your current reads and the books you love.

    I love reading, but often felt lost when trying to choose a new book to read. I joined a book club a little over a year ago and it’s opened me up to books I would never have thought to read. A couple of my recent favourites are Little Bee and The Art of Racing in the Rain. Our current selection is The Sisters Brothers which is…interesting. I still haven’t decided what I think of it.

  3. Love this! I’ve been reading up a storm at all my RE apts, so I’m flying through books and could use some good recs.

  4. I’ve always said, I’m dubious of people that don’t like dogs, ice cream, or reading. You are 3 for 3 babydoll.

    When I was little, I used to sit in a closet and read. I wasn’t picky about which closet, but my favorite was the one in the foyer. I made myself a little nest and wouldn’t come out all summer. We don’t have any good ‘reading closets’ in our condo, but make do with a sunny spot outside or with my legs in the air with the dildo cam. Speaking of which….

  5. I struggled to learn to read and couldn’t until I was nine. Once I could I have never looked back and now you can’t stop me. I am really looking forward to our holiday because it will mean I can read for days on end.

  6. Wife

    I am also a huge reader so I’m so excited to keep hearing about what your reading but one thing I have to ask and I ask all my reader friends…..”what’s your favorite book?” I try to read my friends’ favorites. Mine is “To Kill A Mockingbird” Love it!!

  7. What a wonderful idea, Trisha! I, too, love, love, love reading. Two books have really resonated with me lately – Buddha in the Attic and The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks. When I finished my degree six months ago I decided to create non-fiction and fiction reading lists. It was so much fun. The list has over 200 books on it. I’ve gone overboard.

  8. Pingback: Written Wednesday: Harry Potter |

Leave a Reply

