Written Wednesday: Harry Potter

I picked up Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone for the first time when I was 13 years old. As I have mentioned at the time I was in to only one type of books: cheesy romances. I was stuck in a genre that now activates my gag reflex and would not entertain reading anything that did not fall into that genre.

My little brother had read all four books (all that was out at the time) and encouraged me to start them. All I knew about them is they were about wizards and magic. Definitely not up my alley at all. My memories are foggy as to how he convinced me to give it a try but somehow he did it. I finished the first with feeling iffy. I was not yet hooked but I did decide to go on. I FLEW through the second book. I had a bit of a harder time getting into the 3rd but once I did it quickly became my favorite in the series. I was officially hooked.

What started then was a great adventure for me and Harry Potter. 13 years old, going through the “gawky” stage, and very unsure of myself when I started the series to 22 years old, confident in my job and life, and a mere weeks away from being engaged when the last book came out.

I have such fond memories of those times. I went to the midnight releases for books 5, 6, and 7. I have no shame admitting I cried my way through the last book. Chapter 34 “The Forest Again” is my favorite chapter of the series. I think it is so beautifully written, it nailed all the emotions that had built up through out the book. It was amazing to me. I finished the book within 24 hours and when I shut the book I felt a sense of grief. It was over. I wished I taken my time to enjoy it a bit more, but I know I never would have been able to. I was too enraptured.

For me Harry Potter represents my childhood. I feel like the characters are friends that I shared my teenage years with. I went to the 5th book midnight release with my best friend, a boy whom I was convinced I was going to marry. I went to the 7th book release with the man who I did marry, the love of my life J. I actually don’t know if I can find the words to express how much these books mean to me. They are always a comfort when I feel a little down or am going through troubled times. I can pick them up and I am transported to another time and place. Even though I could probably repeat some of the lines if I cared to try, they pull me in every time. It doesn’t matter how many times I read them, they still capture me.

So I say thank you to J.K. Rowling. Thank you for all the adventures. Thank you for the memories. Thank you for creating a world that feels as real to me as  life. And even though I may be a little older than most of the students, I’ll still gladly accept my Hogwarts letter any time.

I leave you with this final note:  Snape, Snape, Severus Snape. DUMBLEDORE!

10 Comments

Filed under Written Wednesday

10 responses to “Written Wednesday: Harry Potter

  1. I never read them thinking that it was too “trendy” but they are on my to-read list now and can’t wait to read what all the fuss is about! I can’t resist a can’t put them down series 🙂

  2. Love, love, LOVE Harry Potter! I read through the first 4 books on a trip to London when I was 19 and was instantly hooked. I was very much the same type of girl…the one who went to all the midnight book releases (and movie releases too!). I even did my senior research project in college on the series (I was an English major)…and not only did I get an A, but I won the award for my division because of it. So anytime you want to talk HP…I’m the girl to come to! 🙂

  3. Great post! I feel the same way about being able to pick up those books whenever just as a comfort. They are so well written and draw you in. It’s a little escape.

  4. I love how you say that the characters feel like “friends” to you. I have started reading the HP books in French as part of my “study program” (along with a lot of movies and TV shows, great study program, eh?) and can really relate to what you say. I’ll be sad when I finish the series, but as you do, I can always go back and revisit them any time! And as you might imagine, I really improved my foreign language vocabulary – magic, spell, broomstick, toad, etc. … super useful!

  5. I know a lot of people who say the same thing about the series–that they grew up with them! I’ve heard so many people say they cried when it was over. I’ve yet to try one but maybe I will.

  6. Loooove Harry Potter too… such amazing stories and love being transported to another world 🙂 xoxo

  7. I feel the very same way. I picked up the first book at a book fair in elementary school, and was hooked instantly. Now, years later, the first thing on my to-do list when I quit my job was to re-read all seven. I still love the first book the best – maybe it was just the fact that I didn’t know what to expect.

  8. So glad you had such a connection with the series! I have yet to read the books but have seen all the movies (but the last one) and loved them! I am looking forward to reading them with my daughter when she is older.
    Thanks for stopping by my blog! Happy ICLW!

  9. I feel the same way. I first read them when my Hubby handed me the first book when we first started dating. I read the last book only weeks before we got engaged. These books are a beautiful reminder of our first years together.

Leave a Reply

