Written Wednesday: Room

Book: Room

Author: Emma Donoghue

Something that is always interesting to me is how finding a really really good book is both wonderful and terrible. Wonderful obviously because it’s like finding a treasure, in my opinion. It’s a rare thing to find a story that completely captivates and moves you, for me very few books are like this. It is a terrible thing because like always, it eventually comes to an end. Then I find myself lost about what to read next. When you find a gem its hard to go back to plain old rocks.

Room was a book that I had had on my reading list for quite a while. I had heard about it, seen it on best sellers lists, but for some reason never felt the pull to read it. It is a story that is narrated by 5-year-old Jack and told about his life with his Ma in Room. Room is the place that he has lived his whole life, he has never left Room. It is clear from the beginning that Jack’s Ma has been held captive in Room and has struggled to raise Jack as normal as possible.

The story is heartbreaking, real and completely fascinating. It is so easy to get drawn into Jack’s world and experience all the emotions that he does throughout the book. I hesitate to say too much about the plot for fear of giving anything else away. I’ll I can say is that I found this book to be a breath of fresh air. I haven’t read anything in a long time that I have loved as much as I loved reading this novel. Emma Donoghue, my hat is tipped to you. I highly recommend this book to anyone.

10 Comments

Filed under Written Wednesday

10 responses to “Written Wednesday: Room

  1. I read this book earlier this year, and felt just like you– I felt so sad that it had to end and that I had to say goodbye to Jack and Ma. I shed some tears at the end!

  2. Great book!
    I also really enjoyed State of Wonder… It was another one that I read recently that I was sad to see come to an end. 🙂

  3. B

    This is a book I listened to on cd in my car and I was so enthralled I would just sit in the car once I got to work because I could not stop listening. I enjoyed it, even while crying through it!

  4. This was the first book I read when I got my e-book a couple Christmases ago! Loved it!

  5. Yes, loved it. It made me claustrophobic just reading it, but I was completely captivated by the writing style from page 1.

  6. veetamia

    Will definitely put it on my book list! Thanks for sharing

  7. I really loved this book too! (Also trying to get pregnant for the first time…)

  8. This has been on my “to read” list for a long time now. I’ll have to bump it up to next in line now! Thanks for the review 🙂

  9. M

    Thanks for sharing- I need some good books to read this summer!

  10. I just started this! I should keep with it!

Leave a Reply

