Couch to 5K: Weeks 1 and 2

So I decided I’m going to post my progress with the Couch to 5K program. A big motivator for me is being able to show off my progress also it will encourage me to keep going because I don’t want to have to admit that there is no progress report because I gave up. That would suck. So here it is.

Week 1: 5 min warm up. Run 60 seconds, Walk 90 seconds. Repeat this for 20 min. 5 min cool down.

This week went surprisingly well. Considering my normal fitness level is pretty much nothing I was pleasantly surprised when I was able to get through all the workouts without having to stop during the running times.

Week 2: 5 min warm up. Run 90 seconds, Walk 2 min. Repeat 6x for a total of 21 min. 5 min cool down.

Run 1 – Again I surprised myself. This run definitely was more challenging than the previous runs but I was able to make it through without stopping during the running sections.

Run 2 – This run we decided we were going to try to start running outdoors. Before we were just going to the small gym in our complex but sometimes the treadmills are taken, plus I’ve heard that outdoors is harder so if you can start getting used to that right away you are better off. The outdoor run was harder. We went to a small park nearby that has a loop. For the most part it is pretty flat but there are a few sections with a slight incline. I found myself just running the straight sections and then turning around to avoid the inclines. But again I made it through.

Run 3 – I have chronic sinus issues and yesterday they started flaring up again. My head felt like it weighed a ton and my throat was killing me. J said that we should take a break but I insisted that I at least try. I’m glad I did because this run was the best of the week for me. We went to the park and I continued to run the straight sections but this time during the runs I didn’t even have to check my timer to see how much longer was left. I started to get into a groove and I just knew that I can push through the soreness in my legs. I felt so proud of myself when I finished.

I know for some running 90 seconds straight seems easy but for me it was not at all. I’m the girl who told my husband I’d rather starve myself to lose weight than get on a treadmill. And now I am doing this, for me. I’m starting to get the euphoric feeling after I work out that I never had in the past, it makes me understand why people love to do this. I’m hoping this feeling will only get stronger as I continue. I need something good in my life right now that does not revolve around pregnancy and infertility. My hope is that by the end of the summer I can run a 5K with J. 3.1 miles. Not much but for me a huge accomplishment.  So I’m moving on the week 3 now. The running times are starting to double which makes me both nervous and excited.

In other news I’m on CD7 and I just barely stopped bleeding. Before the miscarriage I usually had a 2-3 day flow now I’m at a week. I am not a happy camper. I’m hoping this does not become my new norm.

8 Comments

Filed under C25K, Living Life, Miscarriage, PCOS

8 responses to “Couch to 5K: Weeks 1 and 2

  1. Wife

    Yay for running!!! I’m definitely one of those people that fell completely in love with it and like you I needed the distraction from pregnancy and TTC. Lacing up my shoes and hitting the sidewalks was seriously the best therapy ever!! Good luck I hope you find the same release that I did and please keep us posted I would love to hear how it’s going. Two tips: 1. Sign up for a 5K now so that you have to keep training best motivator for me and running the race was so much fun and made me feel like a real runner. 2. Look into getting some smart wool socks, best socks ever a little pricey but worth every penny. They wick the sweat away and really help prevent rubbing and blisters so awesome!!

    • I completely agree about signing up for a race. It gives you a reason to keep training, even on days you don’t feel like it. And I totally hear you about the feeling of accomplishment when you are able to run for 90 seconds when before you couldn’t run at all. I look forward to hearing more about your running!

  2. veetamia

    High five!

  3. b

    Signing up for a race is the best motivator ever (er…at least if you are cheap like me. To me it was all about not wanting to waste that money!). And seriously, once you do it, you will be hooked. Races have such great atmosphere and energy. Congrats on the first two weeks down!

  4. I am so proud of you! Doing this workout is not as easy as it sounds and it takes a lot to stay with it. I’m also an outside runner- I need to scenery, otherwise I go crazy from boredom and don’t make it very far. That and I fall off trendmills (for realz, I have the blackened knees to prove it). Keep it up!

  5. I just finished week one! So far so good. I should document my progress, too, but I don’t have it in me right now. My knees hurt a little today after my (outside) run.
    Best of luck! It can only help us feel better!! 🙂

  6. Pingback: Better late than never |

Leave a Reply

