Couch to 5K: Week 3

I’m a little behind on posting this since I finished the last run of week 3 last Wednesday, but never late than never. Week 3 consists of a 5 minutes warmup, run 90 seconds, walk 90 seconds, run 3 minutes, walk 3 minutes, run 90 seconds, walk 90 seconds, run 3 minutes, walk 3 minutes, 5 minute cool down.

I was a little nervous about the 3 minute runs considering this is 3x the amount I was running just 2 weeks before but I was able to do it. Not only was I able to do it but I was able to complete the entire run without looking at the timer to see how much longer I had left. I’ve found that that makes it much worse.

Run 1: On the treadmill. Definitely felt harder than the week before as I went into the longer runs but this was probably my best run of the week. I felt so proud as I completed the running portions that I was on a total high.

Run 2: Again on the treadmill. To be honest I don’t remember much about this run other than the fact that I know I completed it.

Run 3: Outside. This run was much harder than the previous two, just being outside and having the inclines, even if they are small, makes if more difficult but again I got through the whole run without checking the clock.

Overall week 3 was a success. I have definitely noticed a difference in my stamina and my breathing. 3 weeks ago running for a min. made me out of breath, now I am able to run 3 min. and only be a bit winded. Mostly what is slowing me down at this point is my weak legs. They just aren’t used to doing stuff like this so they aren’t as strong as they should be. 3 minutes really tires them out. But they better prepare because next week we step it up a notch!

Sorry I was MIA over the weekend, tomorrow I will post a cycle update and get caught up with my blog reading.

3 Comments

Filed under C25K, Living Life

3 responses to “Couch to 5K: Week 3

  1. Great job!!! Keep at it and you’ll soon feel wonderful as you run!

  2. Congrats! I just finished a Couch to 10K program. It really is amazing what you can accomplish if you stick to the plan. Keep going!

Leave a Reply

