Couch to 5K: Week 4

Sorry this post is sooo delayed. But in truth I only just finished Week 4 a few days again. Honestly, this week kicked my ass. During week 3 you have a total running time of  9 minutes. Week 4 you jump up to a total running time of 16 minutes! Here is what week 4 looks like:

5 minute warm up.

Run 3 minutes

Walk 90 seconds

Run 5 minutes

Walk 2.5 minutes

Run 3 minutes

Walk 90 seconds

Run 5 minutes

5 minutes cool down.

Yeah, those 5 minutes runs were brutal for me at first. So my “week” ended up being much longer than it should have been.

Run 1: Was not able to complete run. Did all but the last 2 1/2 minutes. Total running time of 13.5 minutes. Absolutely devastated. I was SO mad at myself on the way home. I kept thinking “I could have done it, I had another 2 1/2 minutes in me” but it is what it is.

Run 2: Even worse. Did not warm up properly and  had major leg pain. Total running time of 9.5 minutes

Run 3: Best run of the week. My SIL was in town and said she’d do the run with me. This really encouraged me and made me push myself to finish because she was still going. Completed run inside on treadmill.

Run 4: Outside run. Able to complete but definitely had a harder time then the inside run. But very happy with the results.

Run 5: Outside run. Probably the hardest of my completed runs. Just was tired and out of gas, but I knew I had no excuse not to finish since I had already completed the run the 2 previous times. Run completed.

It took my 5 runs rather than 3 but Week 4 in now done. I have yet to make a decision if I am moving on to week 5 yet. Week 5 is crazy. The last run of the week is a full 20 minute run with no breaks. I know I am just not there yet. Although I want to move on because I hate the thought of staying behind, I know I can’t push myself too much. We will see what I end up deciding.

7 Comments

Filed under C25K, Living Life

7 responses to “Couch to 5K: Week 4

  1. Don’t beat yourself up. You are doing this and that’s half the battle! See how you’re feeling, but there’s no shame in doing Week 4 version 2. Or Week 4 1/2.

  2. great job!!!!!! running is really hard to start doing and you really shouldn’t beat yourself up about those last two and a half minutes you didn’t complete. you kept going the next days and that’s more than most people do. keep going and you will get there. oh, and for me, the 10-12 mins or so is always the hardest. i can run for a long time and pretty far, but sometimes it takes allllll of my willpower to keep going those first 10 mins or so. so just try to make it past that on your 20 min run and you should be ok the rest of the way. 🙂

  3. I repeated two different weeks somewhere in the middle there and I’m really glad I did. Each time I repeated a week it was infinitely easier than second time around, and I felt really confident moving forward. Good job on the progress, thus far!

  4. I think you’re doing great! Don’t lose motivation. You can get there. 🙂 I was really proud of myself for going to the gym on vacation and working out in the hotel’s really nice gym. Of course, I haven’t done a bit of anything since we got home. I keep losing 3 or 4 pounds, then putting them right back on. Repeat. My sad little Lilypie weight tracker isn’t seeing much action. I’m wondering if Couch to 5k could work on an eliptical instead of full-on running. I have troubles with my back and my knees (old car-accident injuries), so running is very painful, whereas I do really well on the eliptical.

  5. Don’t concern yourself too much with the schedule. Worry more about what your body needs. If you feel like you need to repeat Week 4 – do it. You’d be surprised what your body can tolerate, but don’t push it too far.

  6. D

    Nice work! I always feel so much better when I run. Running is also one of those things that totally puts me into a zen state. Definitely helps with the stress, anxiety, depression, and anger than IF breeds. I hope that you stick with it! I think you’ll be happy with the results! 🙂

  7. Pingback: 5 Weeks |

Leave a Reply

