5 Weeks

I argued with myself about posting bump updates so early. I only got one in last time before things went horribly wrong. However I’m going the positive route and decided I’m going to do it. Yeah things are still early and there are a million things that can go wrong, but I am determined to enjoy this pregnancy and that includes updates so I start today. I’ve also decided that for my own sanity I needed a nickname for this one. I can’t keep calling it the embryo and I’m not ready to use the “B” word quite yet. Instead in my head I’ve taken to calling it my Maybe Baby. This may sound negative to some but to me it makes perfect sense. This pregnancy does indeed have a chance of becoming a baby. In time I might even get comfortable enough (Oh around 24 weeks or so) to drop the ‘maybe’. But for now it is Maybe Baby. Or MB for short.

How far along: 5 Weeks today

What is up with Maybe Baby: Apparently MB is now the size of an apple seed! The chambers of the heart are starting to form and may begin to start beating soon.

What is up with my body: Boobs are killing me. They are so much more painful than the last time I was pregnant. If I even nudge the sides it causes sharp aches. J is all excited because he thinks this means they will grow super big. They probably will. F me. But I’m grateful for the ache because it feels like an indication that all is well with MB.

I think I’m starting to feel little bouts of nausea. Not bad mind you, I have absolutely no feelings of vomiting, but every once in a while my stomach will kind of turn and feel unsettled. Then it disappears and I’m sure I have imagined it.

I am also pleased to say that with the small exception of the time I tried to poop too hard, there has not been any spotting. And that incident was so minor that I’ve ridden it off. This is a huge relief to me as I spotted the entire time my last pregnancy. And we all saw how well that one worked out.

Nose is becoming more sensitive. We went to the beach today and I was struck by how stinky the ocean is. I’ve never noticed that in my life before but today I definitely did. Plus I can smell when J comes in from riding his bike. Stinky boy smell does not bode well with pregnancy nose.

Cravings: Stuff I can’t have. Why does it work that way? I have been absolutely craving cookie dough. I think this is because during my TWW I had made a batch of cookies but when the first round came out of the oven I discovered they were very cakey, which I didn’t like. So I stuck the rest of the dough in the fridge and slowly ate it all raw. I’m healthy like that. Anyways this is a big no-no because of the risk of salmonella in raw eggs. I think it’s a low risk but still. Better safe than sorry. It sounds so good right now though.

Aversions: Nothing really. We ate Arby’s for dinner one night and that was the first time I felt a little nauseous but I wouldn’t say that it sounds horrible to me. Okay maybe a little now.

Gender: I’m just hoping at this point that it has a beating heart. Not too concerned with parts yet.

Best moment of the week: Hearing that my HCG doubled in 32 hours. Very excited that things seem to be heading in the right direction.

Looking forward to: My 6 week HB check scan. I am also terrified for this. Please let MB have a heart beat…please please please.

Other: My Couch to 5K challenge is officially on hold. I was a little vague in my last update (Week 4) because  I knew that it was on hold but I hadn’t announced the pregnancy yet. They say it is okay to run in pregnancy if you were a runner before, but the thing is I had only been a runner for about a month. And not a good one at that. It was still pushing my body much more than I would be comfortable with right now. I just can’t take any chances. The good thing is that I now know I can do it though. My hope is to pick running back up after MB is (gulp) born. Maybe lose some of the weight that way. I’ll have to start over but I’m okay with that.

J and I are going to start taking bump pictures this weekend because he would like to animate them to show me growing through the pregnancy but I don’t think I’m brave enough to post them yet. Maybe once we see a heart beat. It does make me smile though, I’m not the only one that seems more confident about this pregnancy, he never suggested anything like this with the last one but the pictures this time were his idea. Come on MB! We are rooting for you!

14 Comments

Filed under First Trimester, Miscarriage, Pregnancy, Weekly Update

14 responses to “5 Weeks

  1. Come on, MB. We ALL are rooting for you!

  2. Come on MB keep growing strong! Can’t wait to see the bump progress.

  3. I had just finished week 2 of the Couch to 5k challenge when I got my BFP:) I’m not continuing either… Wasn’t a runner before, so better safe than sorry, like you said! I still can’t believe I was jumping on a trampoline the week before I found out! Yikes!

    So glad you are feeling more positive about MB! Looking forward to bump updates:)

  4. I think Maybe Baby is the perfect nickname 🙂 I’m so glad you are being positive and making sure to enjoy this experience despite the fears of how it will all end up. I’m say big prayers that your 6 week visit gives *amazing* good news!

  5. I am so happy for you that you are getting to enjoy this pregnancy! I felt like I was reading my own (future) mind while reading this post. I also had spotting the whole time during my first pregnancy that didn’t end well, so I agree that it’s a great sign that you are not having that and your boobs are hurting. And I also completely understand your “MaybeBaby” nickname; I don’t think it sounds negative. I think it sounds realistically hopeful, and that it completely makes sense for someone who has been through what you have.
    If you don’t mind me asking, would you tell me how long after you loss your doc cleared you to start TTC again? Ours made us wait 6 months, and I’m starting to confirm our feelings that it was overkill!
    Thinking of, crossing fingers for, and praying for your continued healthy, happy pregnancy! 🙂

    • EEP! 6 months? That is a long time! Our doctor asked us to wait 1 month, which we did. We got pregnant the first month after that. Maybe because I had a natural miscarriage. Did you have to do a D&C?

      • We had a missed miscarriage, so I had to have a D&C. Even with that, I’ve heard anywhere from 2-3 cycles is fine. I was too naive to insist on a 2nd opinion, and that won’t be the case again. Also, we’re working with an RE now, but we were still with the regular OB/GYN then.
        I’ve heard that the 1st 3 months after a miscarriage women are more fertile than normal. Here’s to hoping I never have to find out!
        Thanks for the information, and enjoy every minute! 🙂

  6. I am still so excited for you! Your symptoms sound a lot like mine and I’m at 9 weeks now, so, not to get your hopes up unnecessarily high, I have a good feeling a bout this maybe baby! I say, go ahead and enjoy it. You deserve that. Plus, I read a post recently (I think by Belle @ Scrambled Eggs) talking about the power of positive thinking and what good effects it can have on a pregnancy. So just be happy. It can only be good for MB! Also, I know you had trouble getting pregnant with the first angel you lost, but I personally know four close friends who miscarried their first pregnancy very early and then went on to have healthy pregnancies the second time around and now all have happy healthy babies. Miscarriage and infertility sucks, but there’s a good chance you’ve left a lot of that behind you for good. I’ll be praying for you and your hubby and your little bean! I just know you’re going to get good news at that scan!

  7. M

    I’m so glad you get to post this update! I hope they keep coming.

  8. Looking forward to continued updates like this, and a nice healthy heartbeat in a week!

  9. Trisha, I’m so happy for you and I’m praying for that Maybe Baby. Grow, MB, grow! Also, after hearing about your craving, I have to tell you about a new cookbook I bought two weeks ago. It’s called “The Cookie Dough Lover’s Cookbook” (by Lindsay Landis). It has TONS of yummy recipes that use raw cookie dough as the main ingredient, plus a basic recipe for the dough at the beginning of the book. The best part is that the cookie dough is meant for eating raw, so it doesn’t use eggs, but the author swears it tastes just like any other irresistible dough. I haven’t tried it yet, so I can’t attest to its yumminess, but it may be worth a try if that craving gets out of control. Hope you enjoy. 🙂

  10. Auuuuuuuuugggggggggggghhhhh! This is so awesome and exciting and I’m so pumped for you!

  11. Fingers crossed for a heartbeat! SOOOO EXCITED FOR YOU!

Leave a Reply

