7 Week Bumpdate

How far along: 7 Weeks today

What is up with Maybe Baby: MB is now the size of a Blueberry! Yum…blueberries… MB’s arm and leg buds are now starting to grow! The umbilical cord is now visible and MB’s brain is growing at a rate of 100 cells per minute!

What is up with my body:ย The sickness got me this week. Although I prefer to call it All-day sickness rather than morning sickness. Pretty much if I am not eating or sleeping, I’m nauseous. No throwing up, just feeling like I want to. The only thing that I’ve found has helped is sucking on hard candies (peppermints and Werther’s) pretty much non-stop. The peppermints leave a weird aftertaste in my mouth that I am not fond of and J says the Werther’s make me smell like a grandma. But if it keeps the nausea away I don’t care. Yesterday I actually even had a can of Coke at work because I was feeling so sick and nothing was helping. That helped a lot, but it is not something I want to have to turn to very often. Only in desperate times.

J came home the other day and gave me a big hug. The first thing he said was “Your boobs are definitely bigger”. Then he cracked an evil smile. So apparently my boobs are growing. They still hurt pretty regularly as well. Also the big blue veins have made their appearance. So sexy.

I have a pretty awesome bloat bump going on. It’s almost depressing because in the right clothes…I LOOK pregnant. And no, I am not crazy. I know that is not MB. MB is currently nice and snug under my pelvic bone and wont start to rise for another 3-5 weeks. I know this. Yet I am so bloated that I could totally show it off and call it a baby bump and people would probably think I’m further along then I am. I’m really hoping the bloat goes away soon because I’d rather have my body get bigger because of MB, not gas.

Cravings: Nothing that is really jumping out to me. It depends on the day.

Aversions:ย Still having a hard time finding things that sound good to eat.

Gender: I have my suspicions, but we’ll save that for another day.

Best moment of the week: Without a doubt seeing MB’s little heartbeat. One of those moments I will cherish in my life. Such an amazing thing to experience.

Looking forward to: Another peek at MB on Tuesday! Hoping to see lots of growth and a faster heartbeat.

Other: So…this whole Progesterone suppository thing is interesting. I’m glad you all warned me about the clumps and stuff because otherwise I may have flipped out. I’m still taking it at night because I don’t know if I could handle it during the day. Even when laying down I feel like I am…*ahem*…leaking and it freaks me out. Because leaking in my mind=bleeding. So I jump up and run to check. Of course there has been no blood spotted in this pregnancy…but still. Part of me is waiting for the other shoe to drop. So I don’t think taking it during the day is a good option for me. I will speak to my RE about it on Tuesday to make sure it is okay that I take it at night, if not I guess I will have to just suck it up and get over it.

I have some hair clients coming over today for some cuts so I have to go through my house and hid any MB memorabilia that may be lingering (U/S pics, appointments on the calendar, ect.) around. Feels weird to hide all this when part of me is dying to scream it from the top of a building. Of course the other part of me wants to wait to announce till MB is actually born. But I digress. For a few hours MB will not exist in this house, but as soon as they leave everything is coming back out of the box.


16 Comments

Filed under First Trimester, Pregnancy, Weekly Update

16 responses to “7 Week Bumpdate

  1. HOW exciting!
    Congrats!!!

  2. K.Smitty

    Aw, I’m sorry you’re not feeling well but this all sounds good! All the same stuff I was (and still am) experiencing! Preggie pops and ginger ale were my best friends for a while. I also got cozy with those motion sickness wristbands and they helped too. Nothing made me want to eat, but they did make me feel like I could function better. Oh, and I’m STILL experiencing that bad aftertaste you mentioned. But it gave me a good excuse to take better care of my teeth. So again, I know feeling lousy sucks but it gets better! And it’s all good! Even the bloating. I’m praying all continues to go well for you, love! I’m still so happy for ya!

    • I have ginger ale in my fridge ๐Ÿ˜‰ I thought about preggie pops but they seem kinda pricey so I’m gonna see if I can just find stuff at the grocery store. We are going on vacation in a few weeks and its a 12 hour car ride so I’m considering buying the motion sickness wristbands for that. So far I haven’t had a problem in the car…but I’m usually only in it 20 max. So yeah nervous about that.

      • Funny enough, the car helps me sometimes. I find I like driving more than I like being a passenger, but I think it’s something about the motion of the car kind of offsets your equilibrium just enough so that you don’t notice any nausea. At least that’s how it’s been with me.

        I also have a bunch of Preggie pops I’m not using anymore. I’d love to send them to you if you want. I think I’m over them, especially since I have meds. If you want them, e-mail me your address!

      • Seriously?!? How awesome are you! I’ll send you and e-mail.

  3. Peaches

    Sending good vibes!

  4. Sorry about the nausea. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Hard candy helped me too, especially sour ones (like lemon drops and jolly ranchers). Can’t wait to hear about the next ultrasound!

  5. Wife

    Yay for 7 weeks….and as much as it sucks to feel sick I actually loved it. Felt very reassuring so just a little tip if you like sucking on hard candy you might want to try some hard ginger candy. I got “Gin Gins” from Whole Foods and seriously couldn’t live without them. They are kind of spicy but absolutely helped with my nausea. Good luck and I can’t wait to hear about how your appointment goes on Tuesday!! Stay put little MB!

  6. A blueberry! How can anyone so important be so small?

  7. Yeah, there is no way to cherry coat the progesterone, but we do what we got to right? Luckily there is a time limit on it. I almost just picked up my phone to call you when I read that you have “suspicions” about gender. *Spill it girlie or boy oh boy will you be in trouble.

    *ok, so I know that last sentence is ridiculous and cliche, but I couldn’t help it. I am really curious to know what you are thinking though ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. KT

    Oh yes the progesterone is down right nasty. But if that’s what it takes…. (at least that’s what I keep telling myself).

Leave a Reply

