9 Week Bumpdate

How Far Along: 9+2 Weeks

What is up with Maybe Baby: MB is now the size of a Green Olive. My uterus is the size of a grapefruit…and it feels like it.  MB’s heart is now dividing into 4 chambers and the embryonic tail is completely gone. The placenta is now formed enough to start taking over the job of producing hormones. In my case I hope it does it soon so I can get off the 3x a day Crinone mess.

What is up with my body: This week has been interesting to me. Some of my symptoms have definitely started to wane a bit which of course scares me to death. It did not help when I received Tami’s sad news. But I am trying to be positive and confident since I am getting closer to my second trimester. I am still very tired and my boobs still hurt but I often wonder if that is because of MB or the amount of progesterone I’m taking.

My nausea has been reduced dramatically. I still feel it a little bit here and there throughout the day but not to the same extent anymore. Sometimes I even wonder if I am making it all up in my head because I NEED to feel like it hasn’t disappeared completely.

This will be the longest I’ve gone since our 6 week scan without seeing MB and making sure all is well. I know how lucky I am to have gotten to see MB so frequently but it is honestly making me a nervous wreck. I just want to know that that little heart is still beating strong and that all my fears are unfounded. But I will have to try to be calm and patient since our next look will not be till a week from tomorrow.

Cravings: Still nothing major.

Aversions: I’m still struggling finding things that sound and taste good to eat. A lot of times I end up eating cereal when all else fails.

Gender: Please still have a beating heart…I don’t care about much else.

Best moment of the week: Seeing MB right before we left of vacation. It is amazing how much bigger MB looked in just a week. It was also so great to be able to tell my little brothers that if all goes well they will all be Uncles in March.

Looking forward to: My 10 week ultrasound. It can’t come soon enough, although I’m sure once it is here I’ll be so scared that I won’t want to go.

Other: A little rant about insurance here. So when I had my blood drawn this week to check my progesterone it never entered my mind that they would have to raise the dose AGAIN. I mean I was one Prometrium 2 times a day and Crinone 2 times a day. Seems like plenty, no? Well my body says NAY! And they decided to add another dose of Crinone a day. Problem was, I only packed enough for 2 times a day. Yes, I have been very lucky that my office has supplied me with all my Crinone for free. But now we had no choice to call it in to the pharmacy. I was expecting to get screwed financially by this. I know some of my friends told me how much theirs was costing and I expected around the same numbers.

But then I get to the pharmacy and they tell me for 15 doses of Crinone it would cost me $419…and insurance would pay nothing. NOTHING. SERIOUSLY?!?! I about puked. For me 15 doses is a mere 5 days worth. If my office was not supplying me there is NO way we’d be able to afford this! It is unbelievable! Luckily I had a prescription discount card that you can use in case of insurance denial. The girl was convinced that it would only save me a few dollars but I had her run it and it took our total down to $269. Still unreal. But better. So yes…my placenta needs to take over the progesterone production ASAP. I can’t handle anymore of this.

6 Comments

Filed under Crazy? I'm not crazy!, First Trimester, Infertility, Just my luck, PCOS, Pregnancy, Weekly Update

6 responses to “9 Week Bumpdate

  1. Hey lady, I have a few unopened doses of Crinone floating in my box of infertility meds. I can’t take the stuff and would be happy to send it your way. Every few doses helps, right? If you would like it, shoot me a message: belle.Hineman@yahoo.com

    • I might just take you up on this! I’m going to talk to my doctor next week and see what his plans are for how long I’ll need to take it but I will definitely let you know, thank you so much!

  2. Shelley

    Trisha, I have a ton of leftover Crinone I can give you for free if you want it. Probably about 30 doses or more. It was covered by insurance so I only paid a co-pay but I have a ton of it and I’d hate to see it go to waste!

    • You are so sweet to offer this! Seriously so great! I’m going to talk to my doctor about how long he plans to keep me on it when I get back and let you know what he says! Thank you!

  3. Glad things are going well. I think you should file an appeal with your insurance company with the help of your doctor. Those were not infertility drugs, they were pregnancy drugs and should be covered just like any other pregnancy related expense. You may get the money back if you file appeal paperwork.

    Have you thought about a fetal dopler? Check out this website. They will lend you one for free. They have a short waiting-list but they are really a great organization: http://www.tinyheartbeats.org/

  4. Dude, insurance in this country is a freaking *joke*. So glad that you are doing well and I can’t wait to hear about your next u/s! Also, thank you for posting about Tami – she needs a lot of love and support right now. I’m so glad I can count you both as bloggy friends 🙂

Leave a Reply

