Downward

To say this week has been tense would be an understatement. I have felt like a ticking time bomb just waiting to explode. I’m sorry for not being better about updating, I know I had a few people check in wanting to know what is going on.

I have had 2 betas since I received the Methotrexate shot. On the day of the shot my HCG was 4800. 4 days later, this past Monday, my beta came back at 5300. This did not worry the doctor, he said that often when the tissue starts dying we see a small surge of HCG before it starts declining. Considering it only went up 500 rather than the 1200 it went up in 24 hours previously, he felt this was a good sign. I went in 2 days later (yesterday) for a repeat. From all the studies I’ve looked at they want to see a 15% decrease between day 4 and day 7 (after the shot). Mine went from 5300 on day 4 to 3800 on day 6. This is a great sign as it went down almost 30%.

We are not out of the woods yet, my doctor has been very clear that ectopics are highly unpredictable and you can never underestimate them. However we are definitely on the right path. This news was especially good to hear since we are going to be out-of-town for the holidays. My doctor feels this should not be a problem, however he might send me for a blood draw while we are gone, which we are more than fine with.

I am breathing a bit easier tonight. This whole experience has shed a lot of light for us and has caused us to really take a close look at what we want from our future. For now I am just going to say that I still have hope that next year will be a better year than this one. I have to believe we are going to get our happy ending somehow.

signature

12 Comments

Filed under Betas, Ectopic, Miscarriage, RPL

12 responses to “Downward

  1. Oh thank my FSM. Breathing a little easier too. Thinking of you and hoping for a continued downward trend.

  2. So glad things are headed in the right direction. Hope you have a safe holiday weekend. Every day is one more closer to a new year with new results. I have all the hope in the world for you.

  3. Phew! I’m so glad your beta is dropping and you get to keep your tube. Prayers for a continued downward trend.

  4. It will. Seriously. It HAS to be a better year and you absolutely will have your happy ending. You’ve been so incredibly strong through SO much, you will have your reward. Hugs sweetie.

  5. Thinking good thoughts for you in 2013. I hope your numbers go down quickly.

  6. Things can only go up, right? (Hug)

  7. I’m so glad things are nudging in the right direction and you’re feeling a little bit better. I know how hard this must be still. So many hugs.

  8. You WILL get your happy ending. I’m just sorry the road there has to be so damn long and difficult. Glad things are moving in the right direction for this ectopic though. Sending hugs.

  9. I raise my glass to 2013 for you my friend. There are better, happier times to come. xo

  10. Amen! I believe you will get your happy ending. *hugs*

  11. I’m glad things are going in the right direction. 2013 has to be a better year for you!

Leave a Reply

