A New Journey

I’ve been wanting to write this post for months now. It’s been on the tip of my fingers, itching to come out. But I couldn’t. My losses have effected me deeply. It has caused me to believe that whenever the possibility of baby comes into our future, it will be taken away. It made it so that I couldn’t write this post, because if I wrote it and it didn’t happen, I’d be devastated all over again.

Today with shaking hands I put papers and a check into a manila envelope and sealed it. I handed it to a guy to weigh and stamp it knowing that in that envelope I was sending out all my hopes and dreams. He took it from me having no idea what this envelope represented and told me it would arrive tomorrow. Finally…this is happening.

We are adopting a baby. In that envelope were all the papers to apply for our home study. That envelope is the beginning of our family.

For months we’ve been working on this. We’ve been researching agencies, home studies, post-placement services, and everything in between. We have attended so many meetings trying to decide which way was the best to go for us. The biggest obstacle has been the finances. It is not cheap to adopt a child. J was having a very difficult time imagining paying almost $30,000 during the whole process, as much as he wants a child. He suggested holding a small fundraiser to help cover a portion of the expenses. At first I was resistant. I mean, we are able to do this on our own. But I decided I needed to set aside my pride and do this for J. I figured maybe we’d get a couple thousand dollars. To my absolute shock and dismay, after only 72 hours of the fundraiser going live, we have over $9,000 donated to help us start our family.

The generosity absolutely astounds me. I feel so grateful to have such amazing friends and family that are so excited for us to become parents. And it is going to happen…fast. We found an agency that has primarily African-American mothers, and not as many families wanting to adopt a full black baby. After our home study is complete in 2-3 months the wait for us to bring home our child is between 4 weeks to 4 months. Meaning by the end of the summer, we will be a family.

I feel SO at peace. For the first time since MB, I actually picture us having a child. My picture has changed as now that child has beautiful milk-chocolate skin and gorgeous dark eyes. But it feels so right.

This is the beginning for us. I know it isn’t going to be a walk in the park but we are finally able to feel excited about our future again. This is happening. Finally.

name

33 Comments

Filed under adoption, BABIES!, Family, If you're happy and you know it..., Trans-racial adoption

33 responses to “A New Journey

  1. A

    This is awesome news! Congratulations!!
    I’m glad to hear you’ve found a quick route too. Added bonus!
    You will be wonderful parents. I’m looking forward to following your journey ahead 🙂

  2. So happy to read this and feel the hope and joy in your heart. Can’t wait to see how this new chapter unfolds!

  3. Congratulations!!! I am so happy for you, and very exited for you too!!! Visualization is the key, and you’ve got it. Time is going to fly!!!

  4. Congratulations on finding some peace and for being on a very real path to the family you want so much! I’m so happy that you’ve been able to reach a point where you feel comfortable sharing this with us. I will keep you in my thoughts and prayers as your go through this journey and look forward to hearing all about it! 🙂

  5. These is really, really, really awesome Trisha! I’m so happy for you! So happy that friends and family have been so generous and so happy that you are at peace. Good days are ahead!

  6. Congratulations on beginning the process!! I know how nerve-wreaking all of this can be, but I’m so excited and hopeful for you guys. PS: I love the new banner!!

  7. Shelley

    What a beautiful post to read today! I am so happy for you guys and can’t wait to follow along with your new journey.

  8. Oh Trisha! I’m so happy for you and J, and your future baby! I had chills throughout your entire post. I cannot wait to hear what the next few months have in store for the two of you! And what amazing generostiy you received to help you on this new journey. 🙂

  9. I’m crying over here, jeez! I’m incredibly happy for you, and I can’t wait to hear more! So much love coming your way, friend!! ❤

  10. Congrats!!!! So glad you are finding a way to have a family!!

  11. Congratulations!!! You deserve this more than anyone. And really, what a beautiful way to start a family. Very happy for you!

  12. Great story thank yiu for sharing..

  13. I am so very excited for you!!! You deserve your family! Good luck with the adoption process; I hope you’ll keep us posted!

  14. What wonderful, exciting news! I could tell from previous posts that this was the route you were probably going to take, and I am so happy to hear that this can happen so quickly for you guys. Even if your family does not look exactly how you once thought it would, it will be a beautiful family nevertheless. I am sure of that!

  15. Wow this is awesome Trisha. I can’t wait to hear the story of bringing baby home

  16. Trisha!!!! I have tears of joy in my eyes for you! This is such wonderful news and I can’t wait to read about this journey.

    Hugs!!!!!!!!

  17. Congratulations! I can’t wait to hear more about everything. This is so exciting and I’m very happy for you.

  18. 35life

    Congrats!! This is such wonderful news and you are so brave and strong for sharing after all you’ve been through. I can’t wait to keep reading!

  19. Yay for you! your post is so full of hope….tentative – I get it- but a beautiful, bright and shiny hope. I love it and wish you continued blessings! I adopted my first 3 children before a surprise pregnancy at 44yrs old. so I know all the ins and outs of this journey. if you have any questions please feel free to ask.

  20. SM

    This is great! I’m glad you’re finding peace in this. I’m looking forward to reading what happens next!

  21. Karaleen

    This is such great news. We were in the process of going through the foster adopt program before we changed gears to embryo adoption. We were open to all races both for foster adopt and for our embryo adoption because a child is a child….not a skin color or a race. Big blue eyes or big dark eyes are still the eyes of your children. I am so happy for you and will send nothing u great thoughts and vibes out into the universe for you.
    kd

  22. This is awesome news! I can hear the calm and excitment and happiness in your “voice!” Looking forwadr to many updates!

  23. This is amazing news!! I’m so happy for you two 😀 Please keep us posted on your progress, it would be such a big help to those of us considering adoption. Can’t wait to hear all about your beautiful baby this summer!

  24. This news brought happy tears. I’m excited, hopeful, and full of joy for you and your journey. I believe it will be a beautiful one for you and your family to be. So happy for you and can’t wait to read more about everything on the road ahead! It’s going to be an amazing year for you, my dear… In a very good way.

  25. What great news! I have been following you for a while and am so happy that you will finally have a baby in your arms- and soon!!

  26. This is absolutely wonderful! Congratulations.

  27. This is so exciting! So happy for you guys!

  28. What awesome news! I am thrilled for you both. I remember you talked about adoption on your blog a while back but you just weren’t ready for that yet. And now here you are! I cannot wait to hear more and wish you the best of luck with this! Xo

  29. redbluebird

    Congratulations! I love hearing happy endings (beginnings) like these. That’s so quick for an infant adoption– it’ll be here before you know it!

  30. YAYAY! I am looking forward to more good news… I hope it happens at the perfect time for you! ❤

  31. I’m so happy to hear this!!! I have a god friend who is also on the adoption journey they just had their home study. It’s been amazing to see her journey and I’m so excited to follow you through this time too. This is awesome!

  32. Adoption is amazing and it is perfect! It will be your baby that you were meant to find all along. It is amazing how God’s hand works in adoption. We have been so blessed with our son that is perfectly us…we would not have wanted it any other way!

Leave a Reply

