Assigned

Earlier this week we finally were assigned our social worker. From here things should really start taking off! Next week is spring break for the kids in our area so she is unable to start our interviews next week which is a little annoying, but I guess I can’t fault someone for wanting to spend time with their kids.

The week of the 7th J and I will both have our individual interviews. From there we will do a joint interview / home inspection and that is pretty much it! She will have 6 weeks to write-up the home study so it is looking like everything will be complete at the end of May. Of course I wish it was sooner, but there is not much I can do about it so I’m just trying to roll with it.

I’m very excited / nervous about the individual interviews. Mostly because I’m not sure how in-depth they will probe. J is a very honest person. There isn’t a lot he could say that is bad, but if they ask certain questions he is not they type to give them a bunch of fluff. Honestly we have a great marriage and we are in a better place than we have been in a long time, but no couple is perfect. Our biggest issue revolves are sex which is something I have a very hard time talking about especially to someone I don’t know. Hopefully it will not be awkward though.

I started my new job which is good but leaves me completely exhausted. I’ve cut hair before but never in a place like this. There is a constant flow of clients all day long. Today I had to tell my boss I hadn’t taken a break yet when my shift was only an hour and a half from ending. Plus I haven’t stood on my feet all day long like this in quite a while. So yeah…I’m tired. In fact I think I’m going to wrap this up so I can  take a nap until J gets home. Sleep is calling friends.

name

8 Comments

Filed under adoption, Home Study, Living Life

8 responses to “Assigned

  1. Yay!!! Here’s hoping yeah questions aren’t too probing

  2. How exciting! Im sure the interviews and home study will go wonderfully. In the meantime I will be praying everything else happens quickly for you!!!

  3. SM

    The questions can be weird. With my interview, they focused on my childhood and family experience but I have a kind of messed up situation (raised by my mom, dad not in picture, grandparents refused to acknowledge I exist). For K’s, they focused on his childhood but emphasizedr his relationship with his dad even though they have a good relationship. For both of our interviews they made us talk a lot about discipline while we were growing up and how our parenting philosophy was affected by it. For the couple interview, they made us talk a lot about how we met and how we handle conflict and how much we fight. There was no mention of our sex life which I was so grateful for. Every agency is different, but I hope sharing my experience helps!

  4. Time is going to fly. Before you know it that call will be coming in for a baby or child.

  5. Lots of good news! Hoping the time with the social worker is fruitful and as painless as possible, leading to more good news very soon. Hang in there with the new job. It’s always stressful at first.

  6. I can’t imagine that a social worker would focus too much (if at all) on your sex life, but I guess anything is possible. Good luck with the interviews!

  7. Wonderful news! I hope this week goes quickly and that your interviews go well.

Leave a Reply

