28

This past weekend I turned 28 years old. Now before you all start throwing virtual dirty looks my way, I know that is not old. But it doesn’t change the fact that I started this journey when I was 25. If I was a “normal” person I’d probably have a 2-year-old and be thinking about a second child.

We spent my birthday in Michigan visiting J’s family. We hadn’t seen them in almost a year and a half  due to my latest foray in the operating room. It was good to spend time with them and generally just relax. Parts of it did make me sad though because we had planned to visit Michigan this summer with MB in tow. There are still times that shadows of what my life should have been pop up and take me unaware.

But on to happier things. While we were there, we stopped by the local Salvation Army. I have to say, SoCal thrift stores blow. Seriously, they are more expensive and generally don’t have much. But this one, I hit the mother-lode. I had to refrain for buying up all the cute girls clothes as I have no idea what gender our baby will be.

I did get 8 onesies though. All in excellent condition (some don’t even seem to have ever been worn) and all gender neutral. The best part? I got them all for a grand total of $4. Score!

So yes, I have started doing some *light* shopping. At first it was really scary and actually had me in mini-panic attacks. I never allowed myself to look at baby stuff so the idea of buying some sent me into a tailspin. But then I reasoned with myself. The fact is, I don’t get to do the normal pregnancy bonding thing. And I NEED to feel connected to this adoption. So the onesies have entered a small pile of clothing that I have started collecting when I’ve come across some amazing bargains. I don’t think I’ve spent more than $10 but still. I’m a work in progress. Also J got me a glider for my birthday. It is perfect and will be something that I know I will eventually make great use of.  And if for some reason it doesn’t end up in a nursery it is an awesome reading chair. Yup, I went there.

But the good news is this morning I got an e-mail from our social worker with our completed home study. I won’t lie, I teared up (while at work) when at the bottom it said she recommended us for adoption. I mean, I knew that. She told us that. But seeing it in writing was a great feeling.

This weekend I will be filling out all the paperwork for our adoption agency while our social worker’s supervisor approves the final draft of the study. The paperwork for the agency is minimal in comparison to the home study. They’ve told us it only takes a few days to get everything completed, so my goal is to start having our profile shown by the end of the month.

J and I have become obsessive baby spotters. More specifically, black baby spotters. Every time we see an African-American baby we immediately point them out to the other person. J calls them “fuzzies” and tells me how excited he is to have our own fuzzy.

I never thought 3 years later these things would be happening. But they are. My life didn’t turn out the way I expected when I was 25. But I am sure excited to see where it is headed.

name

12 Comments

Filed under adoption, BABIES!, Celebration, Family, Healing, Home Study, Living Life, Trans-racial adoption

12 responses to “28

  1. So excited to hear your progress with the adoption…it is amazing and you are right to give yourself this bonding/shopping time. I did the same this, I bought little things online. Those items remain some of the most precious to me. All babies are wonderful and gifts from God …enjoy yours.

  2. Love this! Happy belated birthday!

  3. Yay!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! (Sorry I don’t have anything more poignant to say than that but…) I am so glad to hear you guys are that much closer!

  4. I hear you on the age thing – we started at 27 and it took till 30. We’d been bypassed so many times it wasn’t funny.
    Anyway, so excited for your adoption approval! Can’t wait to see pics of your fuzzy (love the nickname too BTW)

  5. Happy belated Birthday! And LOL Fuzzy!

  6. Happy birthday! I’m so excited for your adoption approval!

  7. Happy Belated Birthday Trisha! I’m right there with you… I turn 28 this year and I started this journey at 25. : ( Glad three years will be culminating a baby for you soon!

  8. Happy Birthday Trisha! So excited for your adoption approval.

  9. The start of this post had me in tears. I know that where you are now is not what you expected, but it doesn’t mean it’s any less amazing. I’m so glad you started your preparations for your baby. My GP once told me that while in the adoption process, one needs to live as an expectant parent. And lady, you are officially expecting!

    Wishing you a belated happy birthday and hoping 28 is a year filled with wonderful things.

  10. Happy Birthday friend! I’m glad that you are able to indulge in the little routines that make a home. Plus, onesies are so damn cute and fun to buy.

  11. How exciting!!!! I am sosososo thrilled for you and glad you’ve started shopping. This experience will have it’s own struggles and pain, but it’ll be absolutely amazing for you. And this is a perfect reason to come up to NorCal before it stays blazing hot. Our thrift stores are AWESOME! 😉

    On Thu, Jun 13, 2013 at 8:24 PM, WordPress.com

Leave a Reply

