Settling In

For personal reasons I have decided to remove Baby Girl’s name from this blog. I have no issues with people knowing her name but I would still like this blog to remain somewhat anonymous. From here on out she will be referred to as ‘Muppet’. The reason being she shares a name with a character of Sesame Street so my mom has dubbed her a muppet.

Today our little Muppet is 4 weeks old. We have been home a little over a week and settling into our new lives. J went above and beyond by conspiring with some friends to through me a surprise baby shower a few days after we got home.  We had such a great time and it was so amazing to see that is was more than just our families that were excited about Muppet’s arrival.

IMG_1548 IMG_1554
IMG_1686
IMG_1744 IMG_1828

This week was my first official week as a stay at home mom. I’ve become an expert at loading Muppet and her stroller into the car to run errands. I’ve never been one to sit at home so each day I’ve found a way to get out of the house and go on a little adventure. We attend a meetup group consisting of all adoptive families which was very fun. It’s nice to find some common ground with other moms in the area and hopefully it will help fulfill my need for occasional adult conversation.

We’ve been working on a schedule for Muppet and its been…interesting. Lets just say I have a stubborn child. If she is asleep and doesn’t want to wake up, she won’t. No matter what I do. Same thing if she is awake and wants to remain awake. I’ve been a little more lenient during the day, but I won’t budge on her night-time schedule. Every evening at about 7:00 Muppet gets fed and a bath. This wakes her up, then J and I do everything possible to keep her awake until 10 – 10:30. Usually this involves stripping her downs to her diaper and letting her kick in the cool air. This way she sleeps a good 4-5 hours before needing to get up to eat again. She starts fussing around 7-7:30 am when J takes her out of our room and spends an hour or so having daddy time with her, meaning I get an hour of uninterrupted sleep before J goes to work. It’s a work in progress. I’d like to get a firm routine down during the day AND night but for now I’m just taking baby steps with her.

At her 4 week wellness check today she weighed 7 lbs 14 oz. She is 15% in weight, 12% in length and 55% in head size. So yeah, baby big head. She also got her 2nd Hep B shot which was harder on me than her. The little tears running down her face as she cried about did me in. But she is a very healthy girl. She tracked the doctor with her eyes and responded to all the movements as he stretched her little muscles. We are so lucky to have such a healthy baby.

She has so quickly become the most important thing in our lives. The first day J went back to work he had a hard time leaving her. The first thing he does when he gets home is make a beeline for her and tells her how much he loves and missed her. It is so endearing. Honestly, after all the losses we’ve had, I expected to have a more difficult time bonding with her. I never expected to lover her so much, so fast. Sometimes she’ll fuss for no reason other than wanting me to hold her. When I pick her up she looks at me with those big brown eyes and I feel like I am so much more than the person who changes her diaper and gives her food to fill her belly. She makes me feel like a mom.




name

8 Comments

Filed under adoption, Baby Girl, Family, If you're happy and you know it..., Motherhood, Stay At Home Mom

8 responses to “Settling In

  1. She is so beautiful!!!! I know what you mean by love….everyday it grows more and more…..it’s pretty crazy how much we can love these little munchkins!!!

  2. You ARE a mom, Trisha! To a beautiful baby girl at that! So glad you’re settling in to motherhood so well! So happy for you!

  3. Lovely pictures! I must know where you got that white and pink blanket in so many of the pictures – almost as lovely as your daughter. 🙂

  4. As an adoptive mom, I know how you feel. Sometimes it feels like babysitting…it is just too good to be true. Remember that pregnant women get 40 weeks to bond with a baby. I always knew I was my son’s mom, but as you grow to be the one that knows all the little details of YOUR child then it begins to settle in.

  5. She is perfect in every way. What a beautiful baby. So happy that you are well bonded already, what a great feeling.

  6. Beautiful, beautiful little girl!

  7. Happy four weeks pretty Muppet!!

  8. What a gorgeous little girl! Congratulations to you Mom! 🙂

Leave a Reply

