Sanity has been restored

A HUGE thanks to everyone who commented on my last post. I was desperate, sleep deprived, and starving for a bit of support and you guys made me feel so loved. I really miss being active in this community so I may need to rethink how I’ve been doing things. But more about that later.

After reading all your advice I finally decided to put aside my pride and look into some of the products being recommended to me. I’ll admit I was stubborn and was so sure that I wouldn’t need to use any of these new contraptions to help my child sleep but I fully admit I was wrong. After doing my research I settled on what came most highly recommended: Baby Merlin’s Magic Sleepsuit. Yup, the marshmallow man suit was what I yearned for. I got lucky and was able to get in contact with a woman who was selling one for cheap as her son used it only twice and hated it.

Best. Decision. Ever.

I was really nervous about it thinking it couldn’t possibly work as good as everyone said. So that night after it had been purchased, I wiggled Muppet into her Michelin Man suit and J and I cracked up laughing. She looked so ridiculous! She is the type of baby that like to be laughed at so she immediately started laughing along with us. Good times. I put her down with a prayer and left the room.

That night was the first night in weeks that she didn’t fuss during the night other than her 2 night feeds. It was also the first night in weeks that she slept in her own bed all night. AMAZING. The next night was even better when she dropped her 2nd feed. Now she is sleeping from 9pm-7:30am with 1 feed at 3am. If she does start to fuss I just have to stick her binky in her mouth and she immediately falls back asleep. I’m a believer folks.

She wakes up happy and well rested which equals a very happy Mama.

So again thank you for the help. You guys rock my socks. But I am going to ask another sleep related question. I’ve always been the type to follow Muppet’s sleep ques and let her nap when she wants to nap. But now as she is getting older I’m starting to realize her naps are kinda messed up. She naps 5-6 times a day for 30-45 minutes. I’m wanting to get her into a set schedule of fewer, but long naps a day. So I think I’m going to start putting her in the sleep suit for naps as well (she has never been swaddled or anything for naps). Any thoughts or tips on how to make this work?

I’ll leave you with favorite photo of mine taken from a photo shoot we did over the holidays. This is my happy well rested girl!

name

15 Comments

Filed under Baby Girl, Motherhood, questions, Sleep training, Stay At Home Mom

15 responses to “Sanity has been restored

  1. Yesssss on the suit! How old is she? I can tell you the relative nap schedule we used.

  2. Oh my. She is stunning!

    I’m so glad the suit worked! It gives me hope. My 2.5mo son is totally addicted to his swaddle but he’s busting out of it almost every night so we’re going to need to transition him soon and I’m petrified. Thank you for sharing your story. It gives me hope.

  3. She’s sooo cute!!! 🙂 I have never seen the “Michelin man” sleeper before but it is so funny!

  4. Hooray!!!! So glad you found a solution.

    We’re still working on a nap schedule, but basically the Beats have 3 naps a day, usually 2 hrs after a feed. This usually equals a nap in the morning, one after lunch and another in the afternoon. We try putting them down when they are drowsy but awake in order to get them use to falling asleep on their own. So far there’s been minimal struggle though I anticipate that may change soon.

    Hope this helps!

  5. Mo

    Our nap situation is similar. On good days bunny has one two hour stretch but the rest of the time it’s 40 minutes max and she’s up. I tried everything and read everything and i admit that so far nothing has worked. I’m not saying not to try- baby whisperer was the closest thing to working I found- have you read that yet? – but for me I think it’s just Bunny’s natural rythm. She always wakes up smiling and well rested and doesn’t want to go back to sleep no matter what I try (swaddle included) so I just take happy an well rested as a win. Good luck!

  6. nonsequiturchica

    So glad the suit worked- might be something we look into! The last picture of your daughter is adorable!!

  7. Holy smokes Tricia…she is growing so fast! She’s more beautiful every day!!

    SO glad the suit worked for you. I remember those days and they were not easy (worth it, yes, easy, no!) It’s the little things sometimes. 🙂

  8. Thanks for the post. I’m not there yet, but you’ve helped me think about the transition at least. I let A&L nap whenever they’re sleepy too. I must be naive because I don’t see the harm in it (yet). Lol.

  9. Crap! She is so freaking adorable!!!! That smile is ridiculous! Congrats on the good night’s sleep you’re getting now!

    On Sun, Jan 12, 2014 at 6:44 PM, WordPress.com

  10. OMGTHATPICTUREISSOCUTE! Glad you figured out the sleep woes!

  11. Yay! So glad you found a good solution!

  12. Looks familiar! 🙂 We also have the yellow one. By 4.5 months, and still at 7 months, my LO was on a two-nap a day schedule. She gets up around 7:30-8am and goes down for her first nap around 10, sleeps for a couple of hours usually. Second nap is around two and also lasts about 2 hours. Then bedtime about 7. She naps in her crib in her suit. I have found that she’s much happier on a schedule so we tend not to get out as much.

    Glad the night sleeping has improved. Good luck with the naps!

  13. Shelley

    OMG OMG OMG. She is beyond adorable Trisha!! Congratulations on her, she is just amazing.

Leave a Reply

