One Year Later

It is absolutely amazing how much my life has changed in the span of a year, and even more amazing how much you can love someone that you’ve known for such a short period of time. 3 days ago my little Muppet turned 1 year old. I spent the whole week surrounded by a cloud of nostalgia about the previous year waiting for her arrival. I was bombarded by memories of those first moments when she came into this world and became our daughter. It feel like another lifetime ago.

This year has been the most amazing year of my life. Getting to spend my days with this intelligent, funny, beautiful child has change my world for the better. She has healed me in ways that I didn’t think were possible. She has also taught me something that I knew in my heart but that I always worried about: Being a mother is not about giving birth, it is about giving your life to your child.

Don’t misunderstand me, birthing a child is no small thing. I know that better than anyone as I find it amazing that children are even born at all after all my experiences of what can go wrong. I am SO thankful for A and for her amazing strength and sacrifices as she carried Muppet through those crucial 9 months. But being a mother is so much more. And I am SO lucky that I am the one that precious girl calls ‘mama’ and runs to for hugs.

Muppet is thriving. She is SO smart. She now uses over 10 signs (American Sign Language) and says a handful of words. She started walking 3 weeks before her birthday. She absolutely loves baby dolls and is quite the little mother. She carries them around while patting their heads and giving them kisses. She has such a sweet nature but is also extremely stubborn. If she wants something she lets you know it. She is a huge daddy’s girl. Every morning when he leaves for work she cries and watches him leave from the window. When he gets home she runs to the door laughing hysterically waiting for him to pick her up and play. She has 10 teeth with an 11th about to break through. She loves to eat and pretty much eats anything I put in front of her. Her favorite food is veggies of any kind. Words can not describe how much I love this little girl. She may not be my baby anymore but she is a pretty awesome toddler.

7 Comments

Filed under adoption, BABIES!, Baby Girl, Birth Mom, Family, Growing Up, If you're happy and you know it..., Stay At Home Mom

7 responses to “One Year Later

  1. Trisha, she’s gorgeous!!! Congratulations on reaching this milestone and wishing you, J and Muppet an equally wonderful second (and third, fourth, fifth, zillionth) year of togetherness.

  2. Oh goodness she is the most beautiful little girl. 🙂 Happy Birthday Sweet Pea!

  3. So beautiful both your words and your girl!! It brings tears to my eyes thinking of your journey and how absolutely amazing adoption is. Thank you for sharing!

  4. I remember so well when our son turned one! I could not even recognize the person I was before he came into our lives!

  5. Aw she’s so beautiful, this post is beautiful! Warms my heart!

Leave a Reply

