#Microblog Monday: Pressure

Pushing down on me, pushing down on you, no man ask for.

Ahem. I mean, yeah. Sorry but sometimes you just gotta give into the Bowie. Anyways, ever since Muppet turned one I’ve felt a lot of pressure about different things. 3 things in particular: Having a second child (recoil), taking away her pacifier, switching from bottle to sippy cup.

Let’s start with the later. Muppet doesn’t know how to drink from a sippy. My intelligent child who astounds many with her genius (Yup, I’m THAT annoying mom), can not figure it out. She can drink from a straw, but she can’t tip a cup to drink from it. Go figure. My doctor wants her off bottles by 18 months, meaning I have 5 more months to go. I’m already dreading it.

Pacifier. A hot topic for many. Right now I feel no need to take it from her. Blah blah, it can ruin her teeth, blah blah. Right now I don’t care. She needs it. She is very attached to it, especially when she is upset. It quails many the tantrums so I feel no need to end that now.

Another baby. People know we struggled, they know she is adopted, so why do they assume we can just go ahead and get another one? I mean I really want another one, but life isn’t simple like that. Leave me alone people!

As a new parent I’m assuming this is only the beginning with certain pressures and I have to tell you, I don’t handle it well.

name

10 Comments

Filed under #microblogmonday, adoption, BABIES!, Baby Girl, Crazy? I'm not crazy!, Motherhood, People suck

10 responses to “#Microblog Monday: Pressure

  1. Cristy

    We went through a similar difficult transition with both pacifers and sippy cups. For the sippy cups, we got the E-learner from Nuk, which has a spout similar to a bottle. This really helpe the Beats. In addition, there are sippy cups that have straws. Worth looking into if she has that mastered. For pacifiers, we’re also struggling. We need to get on it too, but only once we find a way that works for us.

    Ugh about the second child questions. Just ugh.

  2. We had the same thing with sippy cups! And we just skipped it. She could figure out a normal cup. So we use straw cups for out and about and regular cups at home. And honestly she was closer to 18 months. R never took a soother or bottle so I got to avoid the weaning thing, but I have friends whose kids had soothers until after 2 and are just fine. You’re the mama – do what you gotta do!!! As to the second baby, I cannot believe you are getting pressure there!!! Obviously it didn’t come easy so how can people believe it’s so simple??!!

  3. Mel

    For what it is worth, we didn’t take away the binky until much much later, and it looked like the teeth were pushed out of alignment. The baby teeth fell out and the new teeth grew in looking fine. So… take it all with a grain of salt.

  4. a

    Sippy cups, straw cups – what’s the difference? Maybe your little genius would like to figure out the cup without a lid and skip the whole sippy cup thing altogether? (Or go backwards in her discoveries, because cups with lids are invaluable when on the move!)

    My daughter is 8, it’s fairly obvious there are no more children forthcoming, and still I get asked. So, you might want to build up a shell on that front…

  5. Skip the sippy. It isn’t necessary and actually isn’t great for oral motor development anyway. If she’s drinking from a straw, just use a straw cup. The binky becomes a bigger deal if she is constantly walking around with it in her mouth all day every day because it can discourage speech development.

  6. For my two cents, my daughter also knew how to drink from a straw but wanted to tip it back so we bought a magical cup that I would highly recommend – the Munchkin Click Lock (mine is clear with a green top) and it has a weighted straw so that when she tips it back, the straw goes with it. And just like that – she’s on a straw cup now! It might work for you too!

    The pressures, the transitions, they are constant. It’s always something. Try your best not to let it get to you! You’re doing a wonderful job with your little Muppet!

  7. Im shocked for you people would ask about a second child. Close friends, sure. I suppose its an honest question. But not so close friends? What the?

    As for the cup, you may get a hundred opinions, but I read straw cups were better anyway. Have you tried a straw cups or just regular straws? Just an idea. Also, Landon was very resistant to dropping the bottle too so one day we just had to switch cold turkey. A week or so later, he got the message, figured it out, and we never looked back. Sometimes we need to take away the choice. His milk intake was low for a hit but my ped assured me he’d be ok for a little while. And he was 🙂 Good luck!

  8. So on the pacifier thing….my daughter just turned two and still has her pacifier it stays in her bed for naps and bed. She also just went to the dentist and her dentist said to keep the pacifier because she would much rather give a kid who wants/needs to suck for comfort have a pacifier and not find their thumb. She said not to worry about it until closer to 4. So that’s exactly what I’m doing.

  9. lara

    First, take a deep breath. You are a good mom. Don’t let anyone – doctors included – make you feel like you are doing it wrong. We struggled with sippy cups too. This (http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B00BEVSSDU?cache=b3f5be0a12330113b25fd803e461d56c&pi=SY200_QL40&qid=1413386416&sr=8-2#ref=mp_s_a_1_2) is what finally worked for us. And on the baby #2 front, it’s so crazy what people will ask. We dealt with the questions too – eventually I started asking if they wanted to contribute money (something like “having another baby isn’t so easy and we need about $10,000 more before we can really get going. Do you want to help us out?”). Most people never asked again after that.

Leave a Reply

