Patience is not a virtue I possess

We have been very lucky with our adoptions. Muppet’s adoption took 9 months start to finish, including the home study. Not bad at all when you consider the national average is 2 years. 9 months seems perfect, just like a pregnancy! The main difference is though, that the time between when we were picked to be Muppet’s parents and the time she was born was only 4 short weeks. We rushed to get ready in that time, especially since I flew out a week early so really we only had 3 weeks to prepare our home for our new arrival.

It was a flurry of activity washing clothes, packing bags, setting up the nursery, and buying all the necessities. It was crazy but so exciting. I knew that I would finally be holding my baby in a months time and I still get butterflies thinking back on those weeks.

This adoption is so different for us. It honestly feels like we are doing everything backwards. We got ‘picked’ first, adoption agency papers second, and home study third. The exact opposite of how we did it last time. And then there is the part that has been the hardest for me: I still don’t have my baby. That may seem like a weird statement but we found out about Baby Boy the first few days in March. It has been a month now that we’ve been anticipating his arrival. At this point the first time around, I already had Muppet in my arms. So the thought that we still have around 2 and a half months to wait to meet our son seems so long to me.

Apparently I’d have a really hard time with a ‘normal’ pregnancy because I am not patient at all. I’m just so excited to meet him and hold him and love him. I already love him so much. We are 90% sure on his name and I’ve already purchased the outfit that he will wear home from the hospital. I’m just ready. Ready for him.

*********

We are somewhat settled in Seattle now although we still don’t have a place to live after the end of this month. It is all a work in progress. But J has started his new job and it has been even more than we hoped for. I’m turning in our home study paper work by the end of the week and we will be starting the social worker visits shortly afterwards. I know there are a few of you in the Seattle area so if anyone ever wants to meet up shoot me an e-mail! I’m feeling a little lost in our new home as I don’t really have a social group anymore. Plus I just love getting to put faces to the names that I’ve read for so many years.

name

5 Comments

Filed under adoption, Baby Boy, Home Study, Motherhood, Trans-racial adoption

5 responses to “Patience is not a virtue I possess

  1. Ha, I am not a patient person either! I hope it all continues to fall into place for you, and that the move helps you stay distracted from the wait.

  2. OMG! YOU LEFT LA?!? Damn, I never got to meet up with you. 😭😭 Congrats on the move and good luck with finding a new place and with the adoption. I can’t wait for the pics and story when your son is born!

  3. Katie

    I grew up in Seattle, but now live in Western NY. Good luck with the adoption – can’t wait to see the little guy πŸ™‚

  4. Followed one of your comments back to your blog. It’s so hard to read all the posts! First, I am in the Seattle/south puget sound area. πŸ™‚ Second, I can imagine the anxious feelings you must be experiencing. It’s so exciting that you will soon have a 2nd baby! Good luck!

    • I met with Cristy over the weekend and she mentioned you were in the area! Maybe sometime we can get together for a playdate. I believe Muppet is pretty close in age to Cooper.

Leave a Reply

